пятница, 31 мая 2019 year

Feldman Ecopark Gives Home to Most Dangerous Birds on Earth

admin-ajax

The animal collection of Feldman Ecopark increases: three cassowaries arrived in the Multi-Complex from a private zoo.

These are the big flightless birds from New Guinea, which is in the Guinness World Records as the most dangerous birds on Earth: cassowaries live a secretive life, but in case of danger, they may strike a very dangerous blow with their powerful legs with long claws.

Ecopark’s new settlers are the very young birds, they are nearly 5 months old (cassowaries live presumably up to 12-19 years in the wild, and up to 40 years in zoos). The visitors to Feldman Ecopark are already able to look at them, as they have already underwent all of the necessary veterinary procedures and settled in the open enclosure equipped with a house, where they can find shelter in case of bad weather. They are fed with meat and by-products, as well as fruits and vegetables, and also take vitamin supplements.

The natural habitat of cassowaries reduces constantly due to the economic activities of people. They are among the species under the threat of extinction, that is why the experts at Ecopark hope that in the future, young cassowaries will become the participants of the programme aimed at preservation and recruitment of rare species.

Cassowaries are the single species of large flightless birds of the Casuariidae family, which inhabit the tropical forests of New Guinea and northeastern Australia. The name of the bird derives from the Papuan words kasu weri, which means ‘horned head.’ The height of adult birds reaches 1.5-1.8 m (some birds may grow as high as 2 metres), and the weight is nearly 60 kg. They are the largest birds in Australia and the second largest in the world (after ostriches). They have an outgrowth on their head, which is called a casque. Cassowaries eat fruits, mushrooms, snails, insects, frogs, snakes and other small animals.

Пятница, 31 мая 2019 года

В Фельдман Экопарк появились самые опасные птицы Земли

admin-ajax

В зооколлекции Фельдман Экопарк пополнение: из частного зоопарка в мультикомплекс прибыли три казуара.

Это большие нелетающие птицы родом из Новой Гвинеи, которых Книга рекордов Гиннесса называет самыми опасными птицами на Земле: казуары ведут скрытный образ жизни, но в случае опасности они могут нанести очень опасный удар своими мощными ногами с длинными когтями.

Новоселы Экопарка – еще совсем молодые птицы, им около 5-ти месяцев (в природе казуары живут предположительно до 12-19 лет, в зоопарках – до 40). Увидеть их гости Фельдман Экопарк могут уже сейчас: они прошли карантин и все необходимые ветеринарные процедуры и обосновались в открытом вольере с домиком, в котором можно прятаться от непогоды. Кормят их мясом и субпродуктами, а также фруктами и овощами, дают витаминные добавки.

Ареал распространения казуаров в природе из-за хозяйственной деятельности человека постоянно сокращается, они относятся к видам, находящимся под угрозой исчезновения, поэтому специалисты Экопарка надеются, что в будущем молодые казуары станут участниками программы по сохранению и восстановлению популяций редких видов.

Казуары — единственный род крупных нелетающих птиц семейства казуаровых, обитающий в тропических лесах Новой Гвинеи и Северо-Восточной Австралии. Название птицы происходит от папуасского kasu weri, что в переводе означает «рогатая голова». Взрослые казуары достигают 1,5-1,8 м в высоту (некоторые особи могут достигать двух метров) и весят около 60 кг, они — самые крупные птицы в Австралии и вторые по величине птицы в мире (после страуса). Имеют вырост на голове, который называют «шлемом». Казуары питаются фруктами грибами, улитками, насекомыми, лягушками, змеями и другими мелкими животными.