понедельник, 16 сентября 2019 year

Bisons Found Home in Feldman Ecopark

banners form — копия

Great addition in Feldman Ecopark: the largest American mammals (bisons) appeared here. Five animals (two males and three females) joined animal collection of the Social and Humanitarian Multi-Complex within the programme of free exchange of animals from the biosphere reserve Askania-Nova located in Kherson Oblast, where the only large herd of these animals in Europe is presented.

Bisons arrived to Feldman Ecopark in two groups – first three, then two more. They feel fine after transportation and already adapt to a new conditions. As told in Ecopark, a new, quite spacious enclosure was built for bisons behind the territory of Three Lakes. There the animals will stay in quarantine for some period of time. In the future, it is planned to build for them a large expositional enclosure, which will become the central element of a large prairie exposition, created within the framework of the project the World Open Foundation for Animal Rehabilitation and Reintroduction (WOFARR).

Bisons belong to ungulates of the Bovidae family. They feed mainly with grass, which can eat up to 25 kg a day. Thick fur well protects a bison, so they easily withstand 30-degree frosts. The adult animal reaches 2.5-3 m in length and up to 2 m in height. It has thick wool of grey-brown color on the head and black-brown on the neck. Front part of the body is covered with longer wool. The head is massive, with a wide forehead, short thick curved horns; ears are short and narrow; eyes are big and dark, the neck is short.

Bisons were widespread almost throughout North America and their number at the beginning of the 20th century is about 30-40 million individuals. However, by the end of the century the species was almost eliminated because of human depredation. Through the protection measures, about 30,000 bison now live in nature and about 500,000 – on private ranches. In Askania-Nova bison appeared at the time of its founder Baron Falz-Fein within the framework of a programme to preserve this species of animal, took root and actively reproduce.

Понедельник, 16 сентября 2019 года

В Фельдман Экопарк поселились бизоны

banners form — копия

В Фельдман Экопарк крупное пополнение: в нем появились самые большие млекопитающие Америки – бизоны. Пятерых животных – двух самцов и трех самок – в зооколлекцию Социально-гуманитарного мультикомплекса передали по программе обмена животными из биосферного заповедника «Аскания-Нова» (Херсонская область), где содержится единственное в Европе большое стадо этих животных.

Бизоны приехали в Фельдман Экопарк двумя группами – сначала трое, потом еще двое. Переезд они перенесли нормально, чувствуют себя хорошо и уже обживают новую территорию. Как рассказали в Экопарке, для бизонов на территории за Триозерьем построили новый, достаточно просторный вольер, в котором они пока будут пребывать на карантине. В будущем для них планируется обустроить большой экспозиционный вольер, который станет центральным элементом крупной экспозиции прерий, создаваемой в рамках проекта Всемирного открытого фонда реабилитации и реинтродукции животных (WOFARR).

Бизоны относятся к парнокопытным млекопитающим семейства полорогих. Питаются они в основном травой, которой могут съесть до 25 кг в день. Густой мех хорошо защищает бизона они легко переносят 30-градусные морозы. Взрослое животное достигает 2,5-3 м в длину и до 2 м в высоту. Обладает густой шерстью серо-бурого цвета, на голове и на шее — черно-бурого. Передняя часть тела покрыта более длинной шерстью. Голова массивная, с широким лбом, короткие толстые рога расходятся в стороны, их концы заворачиваются внутрь; уши короткие и узкие; глаза большие, темные, шея короткая.

Бизоны были распространены почти по всей Северной Америке и их количество на начало ХІХ века оценивается в 30-40 млн особей. Однако в результате хищнического истребления человеком к концу века бизоны были практически уничтожены. Благодаря мерам по их спасению сейчас в природе живет около 30 тыс. бизонов и около 500 тыс. – на частных ранчо. В Аскании-Новой бизоны появились во времена ее основателя барона Фальц-Фейна в рамках программы по спасению этого вида животных, прижились и активно размножаются.