вторник, 27 августа 2019 year

O. Feldman: Ukrainian MPs Must Support Requirement of European Parliamentarians to Ban Trophy Hunting

banners form АБ

Ukrainian MP Oleksandr Feldman believes that the new convocation of the Verkhovna Rada must support the initiative of the European Parliament to ban trophy hunting. According to him, “it is high time this immoral rudiment of troglodytic culture be eliminated in the civilized world and in European Ukraine, as well.” You can start doing this at the next legislative session.

“Trophy hunting is a veiled murder for “aesthetic” passion. Rather dubious pleasure to keep at home stuffed creatures killed by one’s own hands or their parts, thus demonstrating personal success. And it’s definitely immoral to instil such cave habits to their children in the XXI century,”- says Oleksandr Feldman.

In addition, the politician drew attention to the environmental component of the issue. “In many countries trophy hunting is regarded as “environmental” because the funds from this business run for preservation of these same animals. At the same time, most often the victims are the reproductive individuals, so it is difficult to talk about assistance in species preservation,”- Mr. Feldman told.

According to him, revenues from such commerce often become corrupt feeder, as well as provoke other breaches of the law. “Instead of encouraging all this, it is better to develop landscape parks, eco-parks, create recreational areas to attract tourists. To direct investments there, to support at the level of the State, and to allocate funds accumulated by the related entertainment infrastructure for environmental purposes,”- says Feldman.

According to him, revenues from such commerce often become corrupt feeder, as well as provoke other breaches of the law. “Instead of encouraging all this, it is better to develop landscape parks, eco-parks, create recreational areas to attract tourists. To direct investments there, to support at the level of the State, and to allocate funds accumulated by the related entertainment infrastructure for environmental purposes, “- says Feldman.

The MP cited his charitable project – Feldman Eсopark as a successful example, stressing that such positive experience can and must be developed, creating a reasonable civilized alternative to barbaric entertainment of bounty hunters.

It should be reminded that on August 18, within the framework of the World Conference concerning endangered species preservation, held in Geneva, members of the European Parliament called for amendments to the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) to ban trophy hunting. They noted that the ban on trade of animals listed in the annex to the Convention doesn’t apply to hunting trophies. According to animal protection activists, it is an industry with a multi-million-dollar turnover, so the corresponding loophole must be closed.

Вторник, 27 августа 2019 года

А. Фельдман: украинские депутаты должны поддержать требование европарламентариев запретить трофейную охоту

banners form АБ

Народный депутат Украины Александр Фельдман считает, что Верховной Раде нового созыва нужно поддержать инициативу Европарламента о запрете трофейной охоты. По его словам, этот «аморальный рудимент троглодитской культуры давно пора искоренить в цивилизованном мире и, в том числе, в европейской Украине». Начать делать это можно на ближайшей законодательной сессии.

«Охота ради трофея – это завуалированное убийство ради «эстетического» увлечения. Довольно сомнительное удовольствие – держать дома чучела собственноручно убитых существ или их части, демонстрируя таким образом свою успешность. А уж тем более аморально в ХХI веке прививать такие пещерные повадки своим чадам», — отмечает Александр Фельдман.

Также политик обратил внимание на природоохранную составляющую вопроса. «Во многих странах трофейная охота рассматривается как «природоохранная», поскольку средства от этого бизнеса идут на сохранение этих же животных. В то же время ее жертвами чаще всего становятся самые репродуктивные особи, поэтому сложно говорить о содействии сохранению вида», — считает Фельдман.

По его словам, часто доходы от такой коммерции становятся коррупционной кормушкой, а также провоцируют другие нарушения закона. «Чем поощрять все это, лучше развивать ландшафтные парки, экопарки, создавать рекреационные зоны, чтобы привлекать туристов. Направить туда инвестиции, поддержать на уровне государства, а средства, аккумулированные сопутствующей развлекательной инфраструктурой, направлять на природоохранные цели», — говорит Фельдман.

Парламентарий привел в качестве успешного примера свой благотворительный проект – Фельдман Экопарк, подчеркнув, что подобный позитивный опыт можно и нужно развивать, создавая разумную цивилизованную альтернативу первобытным развлечениям охотников за головами.

Напомним, что 18 августа в рамках проходящей в Женеве Всемирной конференции по сохранению редких видов животных депутаты Европарламента выступили с призывом внести изменения в Конвенцию о международной торговле видами дикой фауны и флоры, находящимися под угрозой исчезновения (CITES) и запретить трофейную охоту. Они обратили внимание, что запрет на торговлю животными, перечисленными в приложении к Конвенции, не распространяется на охотничьи трофеи. По словам зоозащитников, это индустрия с многомиллионным оборотом, поэтому соответствующая лазейка должна быть устранена.